Featured Events

Coming soon


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Lateral Constraint
March 2013
Released: 2013, Metal Blade Records
Rating: 4.5/5
Reviewer: Peter Atkinson

With a definite flair for the dramatic, and a taste for the blasphemous, Finland's Gloria Morti turn in a masterful symphonic blackened death metal mashup with their fourth album, and first with Metal Blade. Lateral Constraint is a bold, furiously paced effort that matches grandiosity with aggression and technicality, recalling such contemporaries as Septicflesh, Fleshgod Apocalypse or Keep of Kalessin along the way.

The real star here is drummer Kauko Kuusisalo, who works himself into quite a lather alternating between blast-beat and Gatling-gun double-bass-driven tempos, all while spitting out fills that make it seem like he's got three arms. Amazing. Guitarists Eero Silvonen and Juho Räihä saw away with equal fervor, moving effortlessly between the shrill black metal tremolo of “Our God Is War” and “Hallucinations” or the more complex grind of “Non-Believer,” “Slaves” or “The First Act.”

There aren't many breaks in the action here – hooky asides or sweeping melodic passages and the like. There's the acoustic intro to “Sleep, Kill, Regress, Follow” and some harmonized guitar soloing, other than that it's pretty much pedal to the metal, with frontman Psycho living up to his name breathless shouting along over the top – and sounding a bit like Randy Blythe meets Oderus Urungus as he does. Seriously!

Like Keep of Kalessin, Gloria Morti make liberal use of keyboards/synths as a background element, employing them to add depth and bigness to their sound, while being careful to not seem overblown or needlessly theatrical. The effect is brutality with a sense of grace or elegance, especially with the rich, crystalline production on Lateral Constraint. Brilliant stuff.
Track Listing

1. Lex Parsimoniae
2. The First Act
3. Our God Is War
4. Aesthetics of Self-Hyperbole
5. Sleep, Kill, Regress, Follow
6. Hallucinations
7. Slaves
8. Non-Believer
9. The Divine Is a Fraud
10. Conclusion


Psycho - Vocals
Eero Silvonen – Guitar
Juho Räihä – Guitar
Aki Salonen – Bass
Kauko Kuusisalo – Drums

Other reviews

» Eryx
by Luxi Lahtinen

» Lateral Constraint
by Peter Atkinson

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.